1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Building a CMS

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by resting, Jun 21, 2009.

I'm new to php and currently building a CMS.
    I'm wondering if its right to store the whole chunk of paragraph into a field?
    And, how do we get formatted text (bold, italics, breaks etc) into the database?

Can Joomla be used to build my own CMS system from scratch? That is, with my own layout and requirements.

Please help :)

resting, Jun 21, 2009 IP
  2. Obulus

Obulus Peon

Best Answers:
    If your building one from scratch.. using Joomla isnt doing that?

You couldnt class it as your own CMS if you just used Joomla and made a theme for it ^^

Goodluckk...

Obulus, Jun 21, 2009 IP
  3. resting

resting Peon

Best Answers:
    Joomla is way too powerful and complex for my requirements.
    I only need a small portion of its power :)

resting, Jun 22, 2009 IP
  4. Johnnymoney

Johnnymoney Peon

Best Answers:
    In Drupal you store the whole HTML code of the paragraph into a field, so you could do the same, but of course your system needs a way to interpret that code when it retrives it from the DB and wants to display it on screen.

Johnnymoney, Jun 23, 2009 IP
  5. mustafaneguib

mustafaneguib Peon

Best Answers:
    hi i can help you inthis regard.

i need to know first how are your programming skills?

you need good programming skills to develop a cms.
    i myself have been developing a cms for a year now (had to stop for a couple of months due to uni studies) and now finally i am close to completing it (the stable version, but a cms is never complete. you will constantly have to update it).