1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How much should I charge for my services?

Discussion in 'General Business' started by AndyCrow, Mar 14, 2010.

My apologies if this is in the wrong forum - I couldn't decide which to put it in!
    I've been having some problems in working out how much I should charge for my services. I do web/graphic design. I've done some research and I've found that the normal rate for a graphic designer is somewhere between $16/hour and $30/hour - that's in the UK anyway. However, while I think I'm good, I'm not a professional. Plus, does my age affect how much I charge? I'm 14 - and as soon as people know that, they seem to think that I should receive smaller payment and, while this is somewhat understandable, it can become irritating because they disregard my work and make irrational presumptions about me. Furthermore, I don't know whether to charge an hourly rate, or charge per image? Normally, if I was just creating a logo/banner or two I would charge $10 - $15 per image, but if I was going to be doing some more long-term work then I think I should probably charge an hourly rate. Based on my work (which you can see here: Portfolio), how much do you think I should charge per image or per hour? Note that I designed that site myself, so the logo is a work of mine as well. Thanks a lot!

-Andy

AndyCrow, Mar 14, 2010 IP
  2. fulamax

fulamax Peon

Best Answers:
    As a customer, I would love if you can give a lower rate :)

fulamax, Mar 14, 2010 IP
  3. AndyCrow

AndyCrow Peon

Best Answers:
    You mean hourly? Because at the moment, I have no idea what i'd charge hourly. I was thinking £5/hour which is about $7.60. Is that reasonable?

4. fulamax

fulamax Peon