1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Video Hosting - Server Bills

Discussion in 'General Business' started by ashfield212, Mar 22, 2010.

Hello there,

Basically I've been developing a website for around two months now and shortly it will be ready to go live to the public. One of it's features is a video upload service, now I've never hosted this type of website before in my life so I'm learning as I progress.

My main concern is the server hosting. Do I opt for a dedicated server straight away, or start on shared hosting then move to a dedicated server once required?

All advice is greatly appreciated.

ashfield212, Mar 22, 2010 IP
  2. Arttu

Arttu Member

Best Answers:
    Usually you are not allowed to host videos on shared hosting. I recommend you to get a VPS.

Arttu, Mar 22, 2010 IP
  3. nowimhere

nowimhere Active Member

Best Answers:
    I never heard of such a thing.

I host video's on my account am I'm pretty
    sure its shared hosting.

nowimhere, Mar 22, 2010 IP
  4. PsyHost

PsyHost Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Depending on your hosts TOS/bandwidth limits, shared hosting may not be the best way to go.
    I would personally opt for a VPS to begin with, or just go straight for a Dedicated Server if you feel you will have the need for it.

PsyHost, Mar 22, 2010 IP
  5. dragons5

dragons5 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    As a video veteran I can say that you will run into a TON of issues with shared hosting for video. I would highly suggest a VPS to start out with.

dragons5, Mar 22, 2010 IP
  6. dan213

dan213 Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    I agree with previous replys. I suggest going with a VPS as shared hosting will bring a great deal of issues for you.