1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Calling out all the self-taught, professional, graphic designers!

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by mjda, Sep 11, 2007.

I would love to learn everything I can about graphic design, but don't desire to go to college. What is the best way to learn? DVDs, books, online instructors, or tutorials. I've looked at tons of tutorials and even watched a few DVDs, but I don't feel like I'm learning anything useful. I purchased Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator, but can't find any good, affordable, and efficient ways of using either.

Anything you could share with me about how you learned this trade would be greatly appreciated. Also, your suggestions don't have to be free. I'm willing to pay for training. I just don't want to spend money on something that "might" help.

mjda, Sep 11, 2007 IP
  2. ShadowMarketer

ShadowMarketer Peon

Best Answers:
    Hey mjda,

What you have to understand is that while there are many tutorials that are helpful, most are just "how to create this", or "how to create that", and while they may give you a cool outcome, they don't help you in the long run.

Honestly though, the best way to improve is dependant a lot on what type of designer you want to be. Are you looking to design websites, or graphics? Or both?

If you're looking to design websites, I can say that the only way to improve on that is to look at some professionally designed websites and analyze them. Sure it's tedious, but take them into Photoshop and zoom in to see what type of gradients they are using, etc, etc.