1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Can GIMP Replace Photoshop for Web Graphics?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by HypertextFever, Sep 13, 2007.

Hi All!

I'm a Photoshop vet. I know my way around Photoshop better than my own house.

But... I've started a web development company, and am looking for some advice.

Before I sit down and spend 100 hours learning how to use GIMP, I'm trying to find web developers that currently use it or have used it extensively in the past, to find out if it is a viable replacement for Photoshop.

So the question is:

Can GIMP Replace Photoshop for Web Graphics?

HypertextFever, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  2. Gatorade

Gatorade Peon

Best Answers:
    Gimp can certainly hold it's own but I choose photoshop over it.

Gatorade, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  3. Audentio

Audentio Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Never. Gimp doesn't have a team, or a decent company backing to say the least, that Adobe offers to photoshop. If Gimp 3 or 4 comes out with something revolutionary, you can bet Adobe will be out with another version to pick up the slack. There are geniuses at Adobe, and Photoshop and Flash are their most popular projects. Gimp is just an alternative, and there will always be people who can't pay for photoshop and will go with Gimp, MS paint, etc.

When I decided I wanted to get into web development (just came out of the blue), GIMP 2 was my first stop. Never liked it. Got photoshop soon after and had fallin in love after my first graphic.

Audentio, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  4. Lhlalyam

Lhlalyam Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Inkscape has some usefulness that I've seen some designers use. check it out.

Lhlalyam

Lhlalyam, Sep 13, 2007 IP
  5. HypertextFever