1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

1 hosting account for 2 sites or 2 hosting accounts?

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by freegirl, Mar 27, 2008.

I can host 2 sites on one account but is it better for me to have 2 different hosting accounts for 2 different websites? Or to have just 1 account for the 2 sites?
    I'm a newbie so I know very little about all this, I'm not sure whether I should upgrade my current hosting plan to add my other site or if I should just buy another hosting plan for the other site. Which is better in your opinion and based on your experience?

Thank you for your replies :)

freegirl, Mar 27, 2008 IP
  2. ajsa52

ajsa52 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    If your sites will be interlinked, is better in SEO terms if are in different IPs. Usually 2 sites on same hostings will have the same IP, but there are hostings providing different IPs for your sites.

On the other hand, if your sites are related, is easy to maintain if you host all your sites on same hosting.
    That way you can share Databases, Tools, Templates, ...
    Also with only one hosting, you can save time uploading files, renewing hosting, and probably this way will be cheaper.

ajsa52, Mar 27, 2008 IP
  3. freegirl

freegirl Member

Best Answers:
    Thank your for the reply ajsa, the two sites are not related, they probably won't share much except for a few tools. The saving time factor I did not think of but it's true managing the sites might be easier if I don't have to change accounts all the time.

freegirl, Mar 28, 2008 IP
  4. Suri.CMS

Suri.CMS Peon

Best Answers: