1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

advice:Creating a big website

Discussion in 'General Business' started by Cpu2007, Apr 3, 2013.

Hello everyone

I hope someone can guide me on this.
    I have an idea about a website I'd like to create and I realized that is not something I can do by myself (even though I'm a programmer - not a web developer) so I decided that the best thing to do would be to hire a team,go for a company, whichever option is the most convenient.

I can't provide many details about the website but I can tell you what technologies it will include and hopefully the information provided should be enough to understand the scale of the website and maybe be able to estimate how much it will cost.

-The website will have a database:MySQL (as is free) and has good features.
    -The back end development would be in Java as this is the programming language I've used the most (but if someone thinks there's a better alternative then please let me know)
    -One of the features of the website will be the possibility to embed external website videos, but here I thought that maybe external providers (youtube,metacafe etc) might stop me from embedding their videos on my website if they see that it's reducing their traffic, so I'd also like the option to upload video on my site and stream it(I know this will be costly, especially the server load costs etc but don't know how much roughly)