1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Best approach to foundation for my design?

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by digitalsmear, Apr 10, 2010.

I am a photographer interested in developing my portfolio website.

I'm looking for some advice on some 'best practices' to get started with my design so that it will be simple to manage and not require a complete rebuild to add (relatively simple)functionality for my customers, in the (near?) future. I'm also wondering what content management systems would be appropriate for my small site, but not limit my flexibility for design(graphically and extensibility speaking).

Why should/shouldn't I go the typical photographer route and base at least the public side of my site on Flash(keeping my ideal specs for my gallery in mind)? I have access to CS4 Master Collection through my school, so I'm not worried about the cost to buy in, there.

The ideal site design framework I am looking at right now consists of two basic sections; public and client-only/private.

***Public
    -Landing page
    -Mission/About
    -Contact
    -Possibly a blog
    -Gallery -- This will be a page, or series of pages with a modest list of thumbnails on one side and a particular image displayed and changed via AJAX/Flash in the center. Ideally, in addition to typical navigational controls, this will have the following features...
    *Javascript/AJAX or Flash to prefetch the images so that the load times between viewing different images is reduced or eliminated as the user clicks thumbnails or lets the slide show play.