1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Best strategy for starting a remote work consulting company, likely targeting enterprise customers?

Discussion in 'General Business' started by thelimabeanking, Jul 29, 2016.

Hi everyone,

I am interested in starting a company that performs architectural design and development of web applications, and am looking for a little input from anyone who has had experience here.

I've been a software developer for 10 years and core proficiency is enterprise Java portals. I've also had some experience with building node.js projects as well. I've had experience and am very comfortable with managing outsourced teams.

My plan is to leverage my skillset to get off the ground as a solo consultant, and as the amount of work I bring in (hopefully) grows, I intend to scale up with outsourced (and potentially local) employees. Currently, I am considering getting an application architect certification (both for the shorthand credential that says I know the bare minimum and also for shining a light on all of my blind spots in application development) and targeting enterprise application development.

The first concern I have is that I do not have a portfolio of clients and work to show. My work has been property of the companies that have employed me, so I am a little stumped regarding how to make the case for myself. One option that comes to mind is to do dirt cheap or pro bono work until I have a reasonable amount (maybe 5 large projects or more smaller projects) to show. Does this sound reasonable? It seems slow going and I would like to get a return on my time as quickly as possible. And I'll still need to convince these folks to let me do dirt cheap development for them.