1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Brand new to Web Design ... advice please

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by vodkasoda, Oct 15, 2008.

Hi, I'm brand new to Web design and this forum, so please bear with me ...

I've read a few different postings about the different software available for Web design, and also had a friend who works for a web design company (though NOT as a programmer or designer in any way) advise me to look into JOOMLA & WordPress. I've just read through a thread regarding the differences and there was a lot of interesting stuff in there.

I've come to the conclusion that WordPress, in the short term, is easier to use, but JOOMLA is more powerful and possibly a better bet in the long term. It also seems that WordPress is the choice if you want to publish a straightforward "out of the box" web site.

Nothing I have read, though, answers the questions that I have ... so here goes :

I am an IT professional and completely at home with PCs and IBM mainframes alike. I am a COBOL (yes, I'm a dinosaur !) programmer by trade, but have recently been teaching myself to use VBA and Access, though I am far from an expert in either.