1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Complete newbie- where to start?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by Kristabelle, Jul 11, 2006.

I want/NEED to start learning graphic design. My question: where do I start?

I've found some really cool tutorial websites (pixel2life) but the main issue is I'm not sure which program to use to start learning. Photoshop? Illustrator? Gimp? Which one has the most drawbacks for someone just starting out? Once you get the hang of one program, are the others fairly similar? Is a more traditional arts background going to be of any benefit to me with all this?

I'm kind of overwhelmed and need some advice from you graphic design geniuses. :) Any advice is welcome.

Kristabelle, Jul 11, 2006 IP
  2. Monty

Monty Peon

Best Answers:
    I would recommend to start with already well known programs such as the ones from adobe. They are maybe more complex and can be overwhelming at the beginning, but once you're used to them, that's done. (and there is many similarities between Illustrator and photoshop, for instance, in the "philosophy of use".

It you start with a less professional one, you will have to almost restart from the beginning when you will reach their limits and want to do more complex things.
    And the good point with well-known program is that there is a lot of ressources (tutorials or forums) available.

On the other hand, professionals programs are expensive. So depends on what you can afford and if it's just to give it a try or if you intend to continue in graphic/design.

And sure, background in traditional arts will be a great benefit for you.