1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Content Management Question

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by hmilesjr, Jul 4, 2006.

I have what may seem like a strange set of questions here, but here goes.

My present site has a custome built content management system that I have been dissatisfied with. The main reason I went with a custom CMS was that I wanted a seperate RSS feed for each category in my site. Was told that was what I needed. Although the desgner achieved this, I am not keen on the character string used in the articles.

I recently just got into blogging, and really like the ease of use and the functions WordPress offers. So here are the questions. I am new to CMS so these questions may be silly. I have no programming experience, other than tinkering with the template code.

How difficult would it be to change out my current CMS to a new one?
    Can my current templates be used with a program like Mambo or Drupal?
    Is there a CMS that is close in comparison to WordPress, or could WordPress be used as a CMS?

hmilesjr, Jul 4, 2006 IP
  2. mikebrad0927

mikebrad0927 Peon

Best Answers:
    It is very easy to convert to wordpress, especially if you have rss feeds.

Not too sure about that, probably should ask the designer.

Wordpress can be used as a CMS. There are many plugins, like the static homepage plugin that make this possible.

I am a HUGE fan of Wordpress. Easy to use, near-perfect SEO, tons of templates that are easy to customize, and all of the support that you will ever need.

mikebrad0927, Jul 4, 2006 IP
  3. hmilesjr

hmilesjr Active Member

Best Answers: