1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

GIMP anyone?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by Mirage, Jun 4, 2008.

Hello all,

My background is video, not photos.

I have been thinking about branching out so I can do some of my own Photoshop-type work, and then ran up against the PRICE of Photoshop! Whoa Nellie!

I started playing around with GIMP just a little bit and was wondering...does anyone here use it for professional work? If so, can you give me a rough idea of how it stacks up to Photoshop?

I have read that GIMP is as (or nearly as) powerful as Photoshop but that it has a really steep learning curve (but I don't know how that compares to Photoshop's learning curve). If someone has used both I would love to get a sentence or two from you about the differences.

For now, I am working with GIMP (the price is so much better!), but I would be grateful for your thoughts on GIMP as a professional tool.

My thanks in advance!

Mirage, Jun 4, 2008 IP
  2. Sensei.Design

Sensei.Design Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    Digital Goods:
    i did a tutorial in gimp but i think photoshop is easyer to handle if your new to it when you worked with a program some time the is no real divverence .

if you're a professional I think photoshop is worth buying it

Sensei.Design, Jun 4, 2008 IP
  3. scorpionagency

scorpionagency Well-Known Member

Best Answers: