1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

help with ur suggestion if u r from USA

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by jinnah, Jan 4, 2009.

Hello, I am from bangladesh. I will fly to NY by next May as permannet resident. I am not a professional designer. But alng with my secreterial job i have been doing some graphics work as i have strong attraction in this field. For the last couple of years I have done some graphic projects from freelancing sites. I know photoshop, sme illustraor,some flash and little dream weaver.

I want to build myself as a graphics dsigner. How can i take preparation?If i want to to take a 1 year diploma what type of preparation i need to take.How prospectve it is there? plz help with ur suggestion. tnx in advance.

jinnah, Jan 4, 2009 IP
    Razz910 likes this.
  2. innovati

innovati Peon

Best Answers:
    I know in Canada, just a few hours North of where you'll be living, we have a lot of 2 or 3 year college courses in Graphic design.

Software knowledge is 10% of graphic design. Being able to do thing by hand, knowing Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and web design are good skills, but they didn't exist 20 years ago.....you have to be ready for what might arrive in 20 years that we don't have today.

What I would recommend to you is to learn about design skills and concepts that aren't specific to any particular tool. Typography, Illustration, Layout. these are the heart of design - no matter what type of design it is or what tools you use.

Places to research:

wikipedia for typography, design
    typophile.com < a wonderful typography forum

Congrats on your relocation, I hope it goes smoothly - enjoy North America!

innovati, Jan 4, 2009 IP
  3. jinnah