1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

how to get a cms up a running

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by mel_akey, Jul 24, 2006.

ok... I am new at this and was looking into a cms... but when I donwload one (I tried mambo and joomla) all I get is a bunch of stuff on my desktop... what do I do with all these files? I thought this was a program... so why doesn't it have an auto installler etc?
    I had this guy helping for like 2 days trying to get mambo installed and its still not working. I wanted to load it on my computer and build my site and then get with a host that supports php etc... so how do I get it up and running on my desktop?
    as you can tell I don't know much about this... sorry if its a dumb question!

mel_akey, Jul 24, 2006 IP
  2. factchecker

factchecker Peon

Best Answers:
    It's not a program for the website. It runs completely on-line which means you can edit from anywhere. Once the files are uploaded to your site which needs php and mysql, then you just type in the directory where the install folder is and the directions are on screen. Not easy in any way, but, there is a lot of help online.

factchecker, Jul 24, 2006 IP
  3. mel_akey

mel_akey Guest

Best Answers:
    oh, so I have to get a domain and then a host that supports mysql and then load the program to the site?

4. factchecker

factchecker Peon

Best Answers:
    Yeah..... If I were you I would hirea web designer/program. You should focus your time and energy on advertising not design.. Installing a content management system can be very tricky and you want to make sure and get the right hosting company. Good Luck.

factchecker, Jul 24, 2006 IP
  5. mel_akey

mel_akey Guest

Best Answers: