1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Illustrator?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by bidzapbiz, Dec 10, 2008.

Hey, I have been using photoshop for about 6/7 years now and I am always finding tutorials for Illustrator that seem to produce really nice things, now I was just wondering whether illustrator is worth the extra money? Or can most things be done on photoshop?

Are there any cheaper good versions of illustrator?

bidzapbiz, Dec 10, 2008 IP
  2. designz

designz Peon

Best Answers:
    Illistrator produces pure vector graphics . Which means a program like Photoshop which btw is a raster based program cant. If you arent sure what vector and raster is then i will put it into simple terms

A vector is based on a mathematical equation that pinpoints the location of every point made within the document. Which means if you scale it to be larger than the original it wont lose its quality and go fuzzy. Meanwhile photoshop handels things differently. Photoshop canot enlarge an image and have the same image quality. This is dues to photoshop being an raster based program. Although the pen tool in theory is a vector tool. But as for photoshop it wont produce the same results as illustrator.

It depends what you are wanting to accomplish. If say you are a logo artist or vector artist then by all means Illustrator is the tool for you. Its the only tool that can handle what is required. But if its digital art (general term) then photoshop is more than enough to handle.

designz, Dec 10, 2008 IP
  3. innovati

innovati Peon

Best Answers:
    designz put it very well.