1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Making Money from Websites: Beginners Guide

Discussion in 'General Business' started by -Chappy-, Nov 30, 2006.

I've been a computer hobbyist for some time but never really thought I could make money from the internet. At the start of this year I began buying and selling domain names. No real reason, just thought I'd give it a try. I was quickly making lots of money and thinking it can't get any better than this.

I stumbled on this and some other sites recently which suggested there was also money to be made from "PPC" or "Affiliate Programs".

With PPC it appears that you park a domain with a PPC site and it fills the page with ads. A small percentage of visitors click on the ads and you make money. Simple as that.

With Affiliate programs it appears that you have to design the webpages yourself, and place more specific products on your page and get much higher "PPC" revenues when people buy stuff from your site. It appears this is the way to go.

The way I see it, all you need the following:

1. A website with products for sale that people can buy.
    2. Sign up for affiliate programs.
    3. Traffic, which generates the sales.

I don't know how to make websites but I'm sure its pretty easy after some basic research. There are tons of software packages that are easy to use I believe. Therefore I think (1) is not too difficult.

I think (2) is easy and just depends what you want to sell on your site.

I believe the tricky part is (3). Getting traffic I believe is all about "SEO" and exchanging links and such. Basically putting your site all over the place so you get more visitors. Still not sure how this is done yet.