1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Money problems and sticking with it despite being afraid

Discussion in 'General Business' started by MontanaJake, Sep 16, 2015.

Hi everyone.

My name is Jake and I am a writer/blogger/website owner. Last June I made the jump and quit my job writing for a newspaper to start my own online magazine that's focused on art, entertainment events and reviews of things going on in my community. We are, as far as I know, the only serious website doing that here aside from the local newspaper.

Since starting, we have had a steady increase in readers and interest, however, selling ads has been tricky. I've had some success with a few, but not enough to just be working for myself without taking any other part time jobs.

The thing is, I've gotten to a point where I'm being swallowed by debt and it's scaring me.

It's gotten to the point where yesterday my now-former web developers took down my website in part because I cannot pay them again, even though I did pay them the agreed-upon amount up front to help create the site.

A lot of it, I feel, has come down to a personal squabble. I explained why I was moving on to a new web developer, but apparently they felt as if I betrayed them even though for all intents and purposes, our relationship had been almost non-existent for months now.

I'd ask them to help me make changes and nothing would come of it. Because of that I started trying to make changes myself, and then I was approached by a friend who's a web developer who said he could help me improve the site much better than where it currently was.