1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Myspace Marketing Isn't worth it

Discussion in 'Social Networks' started by affihq, Oct 26, 2006.

If you are thinking, or planning on marketing your fresh new website through myspace, then you might want to think again. I have been playing around with Myspace for several months, and needless to say that it isn't as good of a marketing spot as it used to be.

It is amazing if you have something incredibly viral that you can promote through the wheels of myspace ( kind of like a pass it on sort of deal) but if you aren't acting virally it won't be too effective.

Let's say you have adding robots running 24/7 and your adding thousands of friends per day. This is a tough job seriously. You get maybe anywhere between 10% and 1% to actually visit the site and your adding approximately 5 friends per minute. So overall you can expect to get anywhere between 500-600 visits per day. The conversion ratio is also pretty horendous...at a very low 1-2%

So if your doing straight sales you can expect to receive a mere 2-3 sales per day by doing myspace marketing, which isn't too bad.

The problem comes where the traffic you are getting isn't residual, and in order to maintain your traffic and increase it, you would have to repeat the process over and over every single day.

This is very tiring and strenuous, and kind of deters from most of our end goals and that would be to have residual traffic, that we do not have to promote to get.