1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Need advice: best market strategy for a writer/journalist?

Discussion in 'General Business' started by WaxPaper, Mar 17, 2011.

Hi everyone, this is my first post! I've been lurking for a few weeks but decided to register because I could use some advice...

I'm an out-of-work journalism graduate (news-editorial). As I'm sure even people outside the industry know, it's a struggling market, especially for print. I made the transition to online journalism a few years back, but was laid off recently.

For now, I'm taking a step back and looking at website monetization, SEO, affiliate marketing, PPC advertising, etc... Beyond my experience as a successful and published journalist, I also have adequate experience in sales and marketing, as well as copy writing (including a bit of SEO copy writing).

My question is this: Being brand-new to all of this, which market(s) should I jump into first? I don't have much start-up capital and I'm not sure which area I should "invest" in...

The reason I'm posting here (and not some freelancing website) is because I'm looking for advice from people who have taken the initiative to form their own monetization strategies, as opposed to chasing scraps from someone else's table. (I'm not interested in writing content for $5 per article for someone else's site, especially after working in an industry that typically pays 10 to 20 times that for a 500-word, original article...)