1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Need help quoting a website

Discussion in 'General Business' started by brandozz, Jun 17, 2013.

I've been asked to design a website for somebody and I'm struggling to quote it. I don't do much freelance work but I'm currently a graphic/web designer for a financial company.

In a nutshell here is what I need to do:
    1. Build a custom responsive template
    2. Update 25-30 pages on site, pages are static html, so I will have to update each page by hand
    3. Source a 4-5 new images, with some photoshoping
    4. Testing across multiple browsers, operating systems and devices.

What would you charge for this type of work? My time is currently worth about $33 an hour.

Thanks
    -Brandon

brandozz, Jun 17, 2013 IP
  2. .hawaii

.hawaii Member

Best Answers:
    Hmm that's a tough one. It depends on the web designer. You should calculate how many hours you think that will take, times it by 33 and that should give you a good guide.

.hawaii, Jun 17, 2013 IP
  3. brandozz

brandozz Peon

Best Answers:
    Thanks .hawaii,

Yeah the time is what I'm struggling with. Wondering if anybody has any suggestions on how long it should take?

-Brandon

brandozz, Jun 18, 2013 IP
  4. scottlpool2003

scottlpool2003 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    You should know the pace at which you work. We can't possibly give you a time frame without knowing if:

A. You are working alone
    B. If not alone, how many, what do they do etc
    C. You have any other work or other commitments

And also you should have already asked:

A. What kind of turnaround are you looking for
    B. Are you flexible with dates