1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Partnership instead of payment for a service?

Discussion in 'General Business' started by Anveto, Feb 9, 2014.

Sometimes when working as a programmer I am offered shares in a company instead of payment. In some cases it is all shares and in others it may be a smaller payment with some shares.

Is shares in a company vs payment worth the effort and risk?

What if it is a startup that basically has no value at the time?

How would you decide what your work is worth and what the shares are worth?

How much is a persons idea or contacts worth and how do you measure this value?

Thanks for your help and feedback!

Anveto, Feb 9, 2014 IP
  2. dailybread2011

dailybread2011 Active Member

Best Answers:
    Digital Goods:
    Great questions Markus!
    But hard to answer except on a case-by-case basis. I wish Apple/Microsoft/Facebook had offered me a thousand shares to do some coding for them fifteen years ago. lol.
    Ask yourself:
    • How much do I need the money?
    • How long until I see some return on these shares? Weeks. Months. Years. Only you know what you are willing to wait.
    • What do I think are the prospects for this company?
    • Is it listed or just a start-up? Start-ups can be good IF you pick the right start-up.
    • Can I pay my rent?
    • Why are they offering me shares instead of paying me?

dailybread2011, Feb 10, 2014 IP
  3. Anveto

Anveto Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Those are some great things to think about, I think one of the most interesting might be "Why are they offering me shares instead of paying me?".