1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

PSD-to-Web template process?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by mac_crazy, Jun 17, 2007.

Hi all...

I've been a print designer for a long time, and been doing projects for web for a short while. I understand how to create banners (static and animated), and understand how they are utilized on a web page.

What I'm not as clear on is how to create a full web page using Photoshop. I mean, I do know that basically you set up the document to the pixel dimensions you need, and layout the entire page as you'd like to see it. Then (and thank you to ansi for this info!) I guess you "slice" the page up into layers (for buttons, links, menus, etc). My main questions are:

1) how does this get "coded" afterwards? I definitely can't do the coding myself, don't know how.

2)Once I build a template this way in PS, can an experienced coder take it and create a functional webpage from it?

3) Are there any drawbacks to doing it this way?

4) Anything else I should know about this process? I have a lot of great ideas for webpages, and even have some potential business if I can clarify this.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Dan

mac_crazy, Jun 17, 2007 IP
    CountryBoy likes this.
  2. PluT0

PluT0 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    i am also printing designer for long time too... :) but coding is my hobby...
    anyway you can read people long tutorial w ww[dot]zymic[dot]com/view_tutorial.php?id=120
    so many people also offer service psd 2 xhtml or so... any way whats your idea ?? may we can share our idea.

PluT0, Jun 17, 2007 IP
  3. 8everything

8everything Peon

Best Answers: