1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Question about Design and Billing

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by mac_crazy, Jun 4, 2007.

Hi there... I haven't been around DP for long, and I want to start advertising more for my design services. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Graphic Design from a well-respected art school, I've worked in the printing and graphic design industries for over 10 years, and have a strong portfolio.

At design firms/ad agencies I've worked at, they've billed anywhere from $60-$100/hour. I know that includes a lot of overhead and so forth. Freelancers I know charge in the $30-$50/hr range, because they have much less overhead.

But now I'm seeing people on DP charging $5-10 TOTAL for a logo design! I've seen a lot of their work, some of it is very, very good, and some is pretty strong, but there is a LOT of it that is trite, cliche, boring, or downright poor design, and people are accepting this stuff as "outstanding" work. I don't know if they are happier with the design, or the fact that they paid only $8 for a logo. I'm not trying to be condescending, because I know everyone has different levels of talent, and we're all out here trying to make a buck. But it's frustrating, knowing that I spent so much time learning to be a designer, and spent so much money for a degree.

My main points are these:

1) As a graphic designer, I feel like I can't charge as much as my time is worth. There's no WAY I can justify creating a worthwhile logo in $10 worth of time. I would feel guilty taking someone's money.