1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Reviews - Using DB or Files?

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by Darkhodge, Jun 12, 2006.

Hey,

Im just building a site and want people to be able to review products etc... I was just wondering whether I should make use of a DB for reviews or if I could do it with a file (e.g. CSV text file w/ 1 line per review) which Id include into the page.

The main area of concern here is performance. Im wondering if a file based reviews system would be faster than a DB system once the site grows. Just to clarify things this is what I mean:

Sorry that this may seem like a stupid question! Im new to PHP... :eek:

Thanks

Darkhodge, Jun 12, 2006 IP
  2. KalvinB

KalvinB Peon

Best Answers:
    Use a database.

mySQL uses files to store all database information. You can simply copy those files to copy a database from one server to another. The server security isn't stored in the data files.

What you may want to do eventually is generate static pages from the database but that will be awhile. A mySQL database can handle tens of thousands of records on a moderatly powered server (less than 1 Ghz) without much trouble.

Put data into the database first, then worry about generating simple flatfiles to speed up rendering.

KalvinB, Jun 12, 2006 IP
  3. topsearch

topsearch Peon

Best Answers:
    DB is the way to go. Particularly when your site starts to grow. Mysql does all the indexing for you so you'll have faster access than with a flat file unless you want to write some sort of flat file index utility. Come to think of it, there are probably such utilities available.

However, for me at least, mysql is easier.

topsearch, Jun 13, 2006 IP
  4. TikTok