1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Web Design Business help

Discussion in 'General Business' started by Roy., Mar 23, 2011.

I am sort of new to this but I would like some serious help and not be totally flamed.

I'm looking to start a web design business, dealing with designing, seo, hosting etc. I live in the UK and it isnt going to be earning thousands from the off but as a means to earn a bit of money while im studying. I was wondering is there any crucial factors I will need to take into account. I'm devoting a fair bit of time to it, but I'm teaching myself an A-level so that takes priority.

My main plan is to offer small businesses the website, basic package being 3 page with extra premium packages with perks such as more seo, more advanced features etc. and a totally bespoke package. The money will initially be coming from hosting (they pay for it, with the website seeming cheap) then various upsells, eg editing things outside of agreement/extra time for work etc.

I will need a website obviously and I will be trying to get clients locally at first through cold-calling, going to businesses, friends/family/contacts.

I am fairly good at web design but I will outsource alot of it and have a few ideas that would work for most sites which requires little from me and is more efficient for me to do.

Any legal/tax things I need to take care of, any things related to pricing and any general advice to help me get into this will be greatly appreciated. The face value of this query seems quite basic, but I have done alot of research around the subject and any extra help and information as you already know can only do good and will help prevent me making any stupid mistakes.

Thanks

Roy