1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What platform/CMS is best to use for a niche information site?

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by Wrighteq, Aug 31, 2007.

Hi all. I am looking to build a large information site with at least a few hundred articles about 5-6 diverse topics. The site will be about finance and investing. I also want a forum component. Also on the main page I would like some sort of blog component where I can post the newest updates and articles. Now I have limited knowledge in HTML/CSS/PHP. I am asking for advice on what CMS or software will let me launch such a site and maintain it with as little pain as possible.

Thanks in advance.

Wrighteq, Aug 31, 2007 IP
  2. RSS Master

RSS Master Peon

Best Answers:
    I do a similar thing and do it all with Wordpress which wioll accomplish all you ask easily. If you want to have a look at a sample of what yopu can accomplish go to bloggingempires.com

Quentin

RSS Master, Sep 1, 2007 IP
  3. domainpubber

domainpubber Active Member

Best Answers:
    Try Joomla - I have a site like what you describe and have found Joomla to be a great CMS. Wordpress will also work fine if all you need is to blog.

domainpubber, Sep 3, 2007 IP
  4. Tearabite

Tearabite Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    .. I didnt know that Wordpress could do forums .. ?

Anyway, i do pretty much exactly what you describe with Drupal.. it's pretty easy, very powerful and expandable, and most importantly, VERY SEO friendly when used as directed..

Tearabite, Sep 3, 2007 IP
  5. Trusttec

Trusttec Peon

Best Answers:
    Trusttec, Sep 3, 2007 IP
  6. netstratics

netstratics Peon

Best Answers: