1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

When to buy computer glasses?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Edd Parker, Jun 15, 2023.

I am a late-thirties male, near-sighted.

I recently visited the optometrist for an exam and a new prescription for my glasses.

I only just found out about the concept of "computer glasses". By "computer glasses", I mean those with a customized prescription, tailored to the wearer, for looking at things within the typical distance range of working at a desk. I do not mean glasses that are intended to filter out blue light.

This concept appeals to me because I am a software developer and work all day at my desk and have read a lot of small text. However, I am not sure if (or when) I should buy computer prescription safety glasses. This is because, although I need a new prescription to see things more clearly, I don't experience headaches or eye strain that I am aware of. Also, I do not have trouble reading things that are very close to me (like books) without my glasses (no presbyopia issues).

So should I start off by just getting one pair of glasses with my latest prescription and try to use those glasses for all of my tasks (looking at things far and close)? Should I wait and see if I have trouble with computer work with this single pair, and only then investigate "computer glasses" if I experience headaches/eye strain/unclear vision?

As a near-sighted person, would use my "regular prescription" (i.e. glasses for seeing far away) be "overkill" for desk work? i.e. would I be using "too much correction" for desk work and would this weaken my eyesight or weaken it more rapidly? Should I be using a "weaker" prescription for close work?