1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Where is Wiki Software Discussed

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by richrf, Aug 11, 2007.

Hi everyone,

Has anyone any experience with Wiki software for commercial use? I haven't seen this software discussed anywhere. I am just beginning my evaluations and due diligence, and if anyone has any links, I would really appreciate it.

Rich

richrf, Aug 11, 2007 IP
  2. Pixelrage

Pixelrage Peon

Best Answers:
    Hi Rich, I'd imagine that this is the best forum to talk about it.

The problems with wikis right now is that Mediawiki is still the "best", but it is a nightmare to customize and it is all features, no "looks". There are other wiki clones (see that open source CMS website, I forgot what it's called) and they are all equally atrocious looking.

Personally, I'm waiting for a new version of MediaWiki with a beautiful GUI, skinning options, and modules (kind of like Wordpress Widgets) but I have a feeling that is never going to happen, at least not from the MW dev team...

Pixelrage, Aug 11, 2007 IP
  3. richrf

richrf Active Member

Best Answers:
    Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I agree with your comments. It seems to be a very specialized content management category at this time. Have you, or anyone else, had a chance to look at Confluence. I would be willing to pay, if it is a very stable, customizable platform.

Thanks for your help.

Rich

richrf, Aug 11, 2007 IP
  4. Pixelrage

Pixelrage Peon

Best Answers:
    I know of Confluence but have never used it. I think they offer a 30 day demo, or something to that effect?